top of page

A Big Responsibility

In our walk as Christians (Acts 11:26) we have many responsibilities to ourselves, our walk, others, and especially God. In Romans 12:1-2, we are told "to present [our] bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is [our] spiritual worship" and to "not be conformed to this world but be transformed by the renewal of [our] mind, that by testing [we] may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect". In the rest of Romans 12 there is an enormous list of responsibilities placed on our shoulders. The chapter continues with aspects of our relationships with others, ourselves, and our service for God. Romans 12:3-8 focuses on the individual members of the body of Christ, how they fit together, and each person's individual gifts/talents that they have been blessed with. I love this passage and would like to focus on it at a later time.

What a list! I will be the the first one to admit that I have not found myself fulfilling these tasks I have been entrusted with. This scripture challenges us to be better servants in God's kingdom. This list is MY responsibility! And...it is your's as well. I promise to always do my best to keep this list in my mind to continue my life in...

genuine love ~ clinging to good ~ loving all ~ demonstrating honor ~ being zealous ~ SERVING THE LORD ~ rejoicing in hope ~ having patience in tribulation ~ consistent in prayer ~ helping others ~ being hospitible ~ blessing all ~ crying with those in hardships ~ living in harmony with all ~ staying humble ~ always doing good ~ thinking on godly/honorable things ~ doing my best to get along with EVERYONE ~ always know God is in control ~ loving my enemies ~ overcoming ALL evil with good

I charge you to join me in this challenge to keep our minds upward and outward. I love this passage. The title that comes before it in physical bibles usually entitles this passage as the "Marks of the True Christian". Let us go out into the world and be shining lights (Matthew 5:13-16) showing every person we come in contact with the "marks of the true christian".

“You are the salt of the earth; but if the salt has become tasteless, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled under foot by men. You are the light of the world. A city set on a hill cannot be hidden; nor does anyone light a lamp and put it under a basket, but on the lampstand, and it gives light to all who are in the house. Let your light shine before men in such a way that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father who is in heaven."

Let me know your thoughts below. :)

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow the Blog
  • Facebook Clean
  • Instagram Clean
bottom of page